NORTON SECURITY DELUXE review

Slider

 

Version 7.1
Developer Symantec Corporation
Website http://us.norton.com/norton-security-antivirus

 

 

SYMANTEC CORPORATION

Since its inception in 1982, Symantec has grown into a Fortune 500 company through a combination of internal development, strategic acquisition and partnering with industry leaders. Symantec
is focusing on security and protection for large companies as well as home users. Being global leader in providing security, information management solutions, we feel Norton Security Deluxe must provide the best scores on malware detection and provided safety tools.

INSTALLATION

Installation of Norton Security Deluxe proofed somewhat strange. The basic installation needs a reboot for completing, nothing special as some other developers have an equal procedure.
After reboot, the Norton icon was visible in the launchbar. I expected the program to open and proceed with settings and updates, however nothing happened ( installed twice ) and hitting the Norton button had no response. The Norton menu-app integrated in the menubar pops up when clicked on but no matter which choose i made NO main screen opens? Only when I clicked the ‘about’ selection in the apps menubar environment a screen was opened showing version 7.1. From this point everything went smooth and spend/closed as desired.

During installation the installer asks for permission to install a helper tool.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 9.56.24 AM

FEATURES

  • Defends against viruses, spyware, malware and other online threats
  • Safeguards your identity and online transactions
  • Protects better and faster than the competition1
  • Includes our 100% guarantee:
    From the moment you subscribe, a Norton expert will help keep your device(s) virus-free or give you a refund2
  • Secures multiple PCs, Macs, smartphones and tablets with a single subscription
  • Helps you manage protection for all your devices with an easy-to-use Web portal
  • Firewall

Norton ( Symantec ) claims to solve ANY virus problems on your device , or you will receive a refund. This is the only company i’ve come across to put such a statement on paper.

INTERFACE

A well designed interface shows all information and adjustable settings. The firewall is not as strict as I would like it to be. As the connected network is ‘trusted’ automatically all installed apps seem to be trusted.

Symantec™ DeepSight

Symantec™ DeepSight Early Warning Services provides organizations with timely, relevant threat and vulnerability exposure intelligence delivered through an intuitive web-based portal as well as through real-time alerts. Organizations can use this valuable global visibility and intelligence to help ensure that they adapt their security and risk profile to keep pace with the rapidly changing threat landscape.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 10.06.43 AM

MALWARE PROTECTION

The main reason for buying a security application is to detect and clear malware and provide safety browsing the internet. Both features are part of Norton Security Deluxe, so how good does it work compared to the competition?
AV-Test 2016 puts an end to all assumptions and presents a full test report acknowledged by the industry . Its no use trying to deliver better tests than AV-Test. Looking at their latest 2016 result, shows the detection level and system load performance.

Symantec ( Norton ) vv scores just below the best in test. A 99,2% detection against a 100% by the best in test. A good performance non the less, and low impact on system resources complete a nice and trustworthy application.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 3.32.47 PM

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 3.33.16 PM

 

SCAN SPEED and BEHAVIOR

 

 

Comparing scan speed between ESET Cyber Security and NORTON Security shows one remarkable difference being NORTON “NOT” unarchiving and in-depth scanning DMG files.
The same approach as AVIRA, argument that DMG files will be scanned once opened by a user. I don’t see why a security risk is lower in a DMG file then ZIP file.
Both are used by Mac and risk management is equal when it comes down to doing harm. One might say, lets forget about scanning Zip files too, because again when opened by user the Real-Time protection will detect and hopefully clean the malware. To me there’s only ONE solution, you scan the lot or you don’t. Of course unarchiving DMG takes up time and system load. But hey, you want security or not !

So presented graph is without NORTON scanning/unarchiving DMG files. NORTON Technical confirms our findings.

VERDICT

Norton Security Deluxe presents Real Time security and safety in a modern interface combined with some good features. It serves great malware scores just below the best. System load impact is low, and scanning is fast. Norton Security Deluxe can be installed on maximum 5 devices, which is unique and justifies the price.Shame it doesn’t do in-depth scans of .dmg files, like one of it competitors. Overall Norton Security performs very good and is a good choice to make.
We fully recommend Norton Security Deluxe to anyone looking for great malware protection and save browsing experience.

5 STARs

[yasr_visitor_votes size=”small”]

NORTON SECURITY DELUXE

$ 49.99
NORTON SECURITY DELUXE
9.3

Real Time protection

9.0/10

Safeguard identity

10.0/10

Safe Web browsing

10.0/10

Speed

8.5/10

Firewall

7.0/10

File Guard

9.0/10

Schedule scans

10.0/10

5 Devices supported

10.0/10

DeepSight

10.0/10

PRO'S

  • Real Time protection
  • Safe Web
  • Firewall
  • Schedule scans
  • DeepSight
  • 5 devices supported

CON'S

  • No DMG file scan

One Reply to “NORTON SECURITY DELUXE review”

  1. i bought this software last week for my Mac. I did not have any issue neither viruses on my Mac before. I installed it but something went wrong during the installation. I asked the support to help me and they did it quickly, BUT since then I have got LOADS of problems.
    They took control of my Mac remotely and not only the issues remain, but I also found trojans gen2 viruses.
    The support team dedicated to virus removal were rude on the phone and they did not took contact with me as promised during the chat conversation with their colleagues, for 5 or 6 times..
    I strongly suggest to look for another software

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *